End of June

Well, I said I’d write more frequently, yet two weeks have passed again. Time goes fast.

The past couple of weeks I’ve sent out emails to the maintainers of all the old staging drivers but two. Of the 20 I sent out, I’ve so far gotten responses to 13. It looks like 2 of the drivers will hopefully have some final issues fixed soon and be moved out of staging, 3 drivers still have someone working on them, 6 drivers I deleted since no one is working on them anymore, one I plan to delete, and one is waiting to be reviewed. For the drivers that have been deleted, people say they don’t have time to work on the driver anymore, or they don’t have access to the hardware anymore, or that the hardware is really old and/or no one uses it anymore, so there’s no point in cleaning the driver up. It’s unfortunate since all the drivers work and could be used by people.

I should be able to finish with the old drivers soon, and finally move on to IIO stuff. I got a bunch of ideas for what to work on from the IIO list. Some simpler ideas don’t require the hardware but anything more involved does. Despite half the internship being over, Greg agreed to get me one device (thank you!) so that I can work on and test one of the proposed tasks, and hopefully get the driver out of staging.

The driver is called mxs-lradc. It’s a driver for low-resolution analog-to-digital converters (“lradc”) on MXS based i.MX application processors. (I still haven’t figured out what MXS is, but apparently i.MX23 and i.MX28 are based on it.) According to the reference manual, the processor is intended to be used for various panels, control displays, graphical remote controls, handheld scanners and printers, point-of-sale terminals, portable medical devices, “automotive infotainment”, and other places. It has a host of hardware features, one of which are the analog-to-digital converters (ADC). They can be used for touchscreen input, to read the chip’s temperature or battery voltage, as general purpose analog-to-digital signal converters, and some other things.

I thought the reference manual was very informative. The LRADC stuff starts on page 2659 (chapter 38). I spent a pleasant Sunday reading the manual, the code for the driver, and lots of other sources on the net to try to understand exactly what the processor and the driver are about.

Most of the code for the driver already exists in the IIO subsystem, but since the ADC channels have a lot of functions (they currently provide touchscreen support, battery life/voltage information, die temperature readings, and general purpose analog-to-digital signal conversion), it makes sense to split those different parts up into different subsystems. For this I’ll need to 1) create a new power subsystem (drivers/power/) driver, which will probably also have to handle battery charging, a new feature, 2) move the touchscreen stuff to its own driver in drivers/input/touchscreen/, 3) only leave the general purpose ADC stuff in drivers/iio/, and 4) write a “multifunction device” driver in drivers/mfd/ to manage them all. (At least this is how I understand it at the moment.)

So I’ll get to learn a little about four subsystems, which will be nice. It seems like there’s already one ADC/touchscreen driver and one power/touchscreen type of driver in drivers/mfd/, so hopefully studying how they work and are structured will be helpful. Even better, I noticed that an i.MX25 ADC and touchscreen mfd driver was recently submitted to the IIO mailing list, so that could definitely be useful. But I haven’t looked into any of these yet. I’m also not sure at all about what the power subsystem driver will have to do exactly, but hopefully I’ll figure it out.

As I already mentioned, I’ll also be getting a device with the processor to test my changes. I’m really grateful to Greg for paying for it from his own Linux devices budget. I think it will be really cool to test my changes on the actual hardware, can’t wait. I’ve never worked with a device like this before, so it will definitely be a new experience.

That’s it for now. I can’t believe I’m half way through the internship already. Hopefully I’ll finish with the driver deletions soon. Right now I need to delete one more driver, send out two more emails about two drivers, and potentially respond to some emails. Then I’ll move on to IIO tasks that don’t require the hardware, and once the device arrives, I’ll start working on that.

Leave a Reply

